A Lady and Lit

I like to write

Oh Through the Years We Go

calendar-pages-01

1.

Hi

Do you remember me?

I remember you

Not so long ago we were closer

More intimate and closer

Your hands knew me well

Your lips kissed mine

Chaste as a schoolgirl kiss under a stairwell

 

2.

My new car smells like perfume

And I am playing Amy Winehouse

And you come up to the window and you are telling me to follow you

I’ve been waiting for you in a parking lot

In a different city

Where are you?

I apply my lipgloss

Later driving down the street,

I see you look into your rearview mirror and peep me

 

3.

Couch

We are discussing this you and me

Your phone has a funny ring

I make a joke, you smile sheepishly

Because I have called you out on how silly it can be

Later you call out my beauty

We’re both tall and slender

And you cannot smiling at me

And you are making me smile

Word foreplay

 

4.

August

A suicide

A fight

Stranded with you

Some truth

Some frost

Mirrors

You made a – margarita? I can’t remember

There was a confession

A ring

“We should do it”

Staring in that same mirror, flailing hands

A late night

An imprint

 

5.

A meet up

“Do you really want to talk about my wedding?”

Mush

 

6.

I can’t [do this]

(eventhough I really wanted to)

 

7.

Another summer

Big bay windows

Sun so bright

Impossibly wet kisses

Then there was The Day

Oh, what a day

I will never forget

How could I?

Cosmic connection

It sure felt like it

Eyeballs staring at eyes

A glimpse of you, me

Skin

And so much sun

 

8.

A move

Abrupt

Calls to office

Ice skating suggestions

And you are in California

And I am in Pennsylvania

And there is some back and forth

Over some months

And the communication is lost

 

8.

Text message

Apologies

Empathy

I can understand…

Radio silence

Blocks

                                                                © 2013 Erica Christina

 

   EJ 9/2/2013

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 18, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
